Tracker · Updated October 2026
Pet Cremation in India: Which Cities Run a Municipal Pet Crematorium, What It Costs, and Where There Is None
Seven large Indian cities run a municipal pet crematorium, by our count from official statements and news reports. Fees range from free in Mumbai (at its 2023 launch) and for registered pet dogs in Ahmedabad to Rs 2,000 for a dog under 30 kg in Delhi. We found no municipal facility in Gurugram, Noida, Chandigarh or Kolkata, and Bengaluru's only one was shut for 273 days in 2025.

Key findings
- Delhi's MCD crematorium in Dwarka charges Rs 2,000 for a dog under 30 kg and Rs 3,000 above, and cremates strays sent by the civic body free.
- Mumbai's BMC opened a free pet incinerator in Malad on 15 September 2023; owners need a vet's death certificate and a BMC dog licence.
- Bengaluru's Sumanahalli crematorium shut on 14 April 2025 when its chimney collapsed and was due to reopen on 12 January 2026, after 273 days.
- Reported Bengaluru fees disagree: Rs 300 for dogs in December 2024 and Rs 800 for dogs in June 2025, both in Deccan Herald.
- Pune's civic incinerator charged Rs 2,000 for dogs and cats and cremated about 3,873 animals between March and September 2023.
- Ahmedabad's Rs 30 lakh CNG crematorium cremated 108 dogs from 3 January to late March 2026: 53 pets and 55 strays.
- Chennai's Rs 50 lakh Kannammapet crematorium had cremated 439 pets by 20 January 2026, the Greater Chennai Corporation said.
- Hyderabad's crematorium on GHMC land is run by People for Animals, which said in 2022 that fees would start at about Rs 6,000.
- We found no municipal pet crematorium in Gurugram, Noida, Chandigarh or Kolkata; New Town's authority charges Rs 2,500 for a pet dog burial.
Which Indian cities have a municipal pet crematorium?
We confirmed civic pet crematoriums in seven large cities: Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Pune, Ahmedabad and Chennai. Each is run by the city corporation or sits on its land under an agreement with a charity. Our sources are official statements or named news reports.
Bengaluru's Sumanahalli facility is the oldest we found, completed in 2014. Pune's incinerator near Naidu Hospital followed in 2018. Five more opened from December 2022 to January 2026.
We found none in Gurugram, Noida, Chandigarh or Kolkata. Lucknow's civic body has discussed one, but we could not confirm that it is running.
Lowest weight band. Hyderabad: People for Animals, 2022 (minimum). Delhi: MCD via ANI 2024 and The Patriot 2026. Pune: PMC via Punekar News, 2023. Bengaluru: Deccan Herald, June 2025. Mumbai: FPJ, 2023 (no 2026 fee published). Ahmedabad: AMC via ETV Bharat, 2026 (registered pet dogs).
Show the numbers
| Label | Rs |
|---|---|
| Hyderabad (PFA on GHMC land, 2022) | from Rs 6,000 |
| Delhi MCD, Dwarka (under 30 kg) | Rs 2,000 |
| Pune PMC, Naidu Hospital (2023) | Rs 2,000 |
| Bengaluru, Sumanahalli (2025 report) | Rs 800 |
| Mumbai BMC, Malad (2023) | Free |
| Ahmedabad AMC (registered pet dogs) | Free |
Embed this chart
| City | Civic body | Location | Opened | Fee for a pet dog | Latest status and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bengaluru | Bengaluru West City Corporation (earlier BBMP) | Sumanahalli | Completed 2014 | Rs 300 (Dec 2024 report) or Rs 800 (June 2025 report) | Due to reopen 12 January 2026 after chimney rebuild; DH, 10 January 2026 |
| Pune | Pune Municipal Corporation | Near Naidu Hospital | 2018 | Rs 2,000; larger animals Rs 3,000; strays free | Fees as of November 2023 (Punekar News); Rs 1.5 crore Bavdhan unit unused, June 2026 |
| Hyderabad | GHMC land, run by People for Animals | Fathullaguda, near Nagole | 6 December 2022 | From about Rs 6,000 (2022 statement) | No later fee found; The South First, 7 December 2022 |
| Mumbai | BMC | Malad West (Evershine Nagar); Mahalaxmi; Deonar | 15 September 2023 (Malad); 1 April 2026 (Mahalaxmi, Deonar) | Free at 2023 launch; no 2026 fee published | Mahalaxmi and Deonar running from 1 April 2026; FPJ, 16 April 2026 |
| Delhi | MCD | Sector 29, Dwarka | December 2023 | Rs 2,000 under 30 kg; Rs 3,000 above | Same fees reported August 2026; The Patriot |
| Chennai | Greater Chennai Corporation | Kannammapet | October 2025 | Not confirmed | 439 pets cremated by 20 January 2026; DT Next |
| Ahmedabad | AMC | Behrampura | 3 January 2026 | Free for AMC-registered pet dogs | 108 dogs cremated by late March 2026; ETV Bharat |
Fees are set city by city, with no national rule. A pet owner in Mumbai paid nothing at the civic unit in 2023, while one in Hyderabad was quoted at least Rs 6,000 at the charity-run facility in 2022.
How much does pet cremation cost in Delhi?
At the MCD's crematorium in Sector 29, Dwarka, cremating a pet dog under 30 kg costs Rs 2,000. Above 30 kg it costs Rs 3,000, 1.5 times as much. ANI reported these rates from an MCD release on 10 January 2024, and The Patriot found the same rates in August 2026.
The facility has twin CNG furnaces on about 700 square metres, next to the MCD dog sterilisation centre. It can handle 10 private pets and 15 small stray animals a day, the MCD said. A staff member told The Patriot it handles 120 to 180 cremations a month.
Strays sent through municipal channels are cremated free. In January 2024 the mayor said stray cremation was free in some zones and cost Rs 500 in others, and promised a uniform policy.

| Facility | Small pet or dog | Large dog or animal | Strays | Date of figure |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delhi MCD, Dwarka | Rs 2,000 (under 30 kg) | Rs 3,000 (over 30 kg) | Free via MCD | January 2024; August 2026 |
| Pune PMC incinerator | Rs 2,000 (dogs and cats) | Rs 3,000 (larger animals) | Free | November 2023 |
| Bengaluru, Sumanahalli | Rs 300 (dogs) | Rs 600 (larger animals) | Not stated | December 2024 |
| Bengaluru, Sumanahalli | Rs 300 (cats); Rs 800 (dogs) | Not stated | Not stated | June 2025 |
| Mumbai BMC, Malad | Free | Free (50 kg per hour unit) | Free | September 2023 (launch) |
| Ahmedabad AMC | Free (registered pet dogs) | Free (registered pet dogs) | Cremated, fee not stated | March 2026 |
| Pune Pet Park (charity) | Rs 2,500 (under 20 kg) | Rs 3,500 (over 20 kg) | Not stated | Listed, checked October 2026 |
| Blue Cross of India, Chennai (charity) | Rs 2,500 donation | Rs 2,500 donation | Not stated | December 2021 |
Gurugram and Noida residents have no civic facility we could find. Private services operate in Gurugram, but the ones we checked did not publish prices.
Is pet cremation free in Mumbai, and what happened in Bengaluru?
It was free when the BMC's first unit opened in Malad West on 15 September 2023. The unit runs on piped natural gas, handles 50 kg an hour and is open 10 am to 6 pm. Owners need a vet's death certificate, a BMC dog licence and an identity proof.
Mumbai planned three civic units in 2018, at Malad, Deonar and Mahalaxmi, for about Rs 17 crore including five years of upkeep. In July 2025 the BMC told the Bombay High Court that Mahalaxmi was 90% complete. It said both units would run by October 2025. They began operating on 1 April 2026, Free Press Journal reported on 16 April 2026, giving Mumbai three civic units. Deonar's gas unit takes animals up to 500 kg. Mahalaxmi's electric unit, inside an animal hospital run with Tata Trusts, takes animals up to 50 kg.
Bengaluru's Sumanahalli crematorium cremated nearly 400 animals a month, Deccan Herald reported in December 2024. Its chimney collapsed on 14 April 2025. The corporation said it would reopen on Monday, 12 January 2026, 273 days later.
Pune: 3,873 animals in March to September 2023, divided by 7 (dogeats.in). Bengaluru: Deccan Herald, December 2024 ('nearly 400'). Delhi: staff estimate of 120 to 180, The Patriot, August 2026 (bar shows 120). Different years.
Show the numbers
| Label | animals a month |
|---|---|
| Pune PMC (2023) | about 553 |
| Bengaluru, Sumanahalli (2024) | nearly 400 |
| Delhi MCD, Dwarka (2026) | 120 to 180 |
Embed this chart
| City | Animals cremated | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pune | About 3,873 (pets and strays) | March to September 2023 | PMC via Punekar News, 22 November 2023 |
| Pune | 952 | 2023-24 | Pune Pulse, 17 March 2024 |
| Bengaluru | Nearly 400 a month; at least 14 a day | As of December 2024 | Deccan Herald, 18 December 2024 |
| Delhi | 120 to 180 a month | As of August 2026 | Staff member to The Patriot, 12 August 2026 |
| Chennai | 439 pets | October 2025 to 20 January 2026 | GCC release via DT Next |
| Ahmedabad | 108 dogs (53 pets, 55 strays) | 3 January to late March 2026 | AMC officials to ETV Bharat, 25 March 2026 |
Pune's two figures do not agree. A November 2023 report put cremations at 3,873 in seven months, while a March 2024 report said 952 in 2023-24. We show both, since neither source explains the gap.
While Bengaluru's unit was shut, a shelter founder told Deccan Herald he paid Rs 2,000 to Rs 3,000 per dog to bury animals. A resident said she spent Rs 10,000 to bury her cat.
How much does a city spend to build a pet crematorium?
Between Rs 30 lakh and about Rs 1.2 crore in recent cases. Ahmedabad's CNG unit cost Rs 30 lakh, and the city has tendered two more at Rs 30 lakh each. Chennai's Kannammapet facility cost Rs 50 lakh under the Singara Chennai 2.0 programme.
Hyderabad's LPG unit cost Rs 84.75 lakh, The South First reported, with Rs 33.50 lakh from GHMC and Rs 51.25 lakh from People for Animals. The News Minute put it at about Rs 1 crore. Bengaluru's 2014 facility, with one incinerator for small animals and one for livestock, cost Rs 2.35 crore.
Outside the 12 cities we checked, the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation set up an LPG crematorium for small animals at Palasuni, OrissaPOST reported on 2 September 2026. It cost Rs 1,19,43,592, including Rs 42,31,800 for machinery.
Pune shows what a poor site costs. Its Rs 1.5 crore carcass incinerator at Bavdhan has sat unused for about three years after the forest department refused permission, Punekar News reported on 3 June 2026. Moving it to Bopodi would cost Rs 50 lakh more.

Bengaluru: Bangalore Mirror via The News Minute, 2014. Hyderabad: The South First, 2022 (The News Minute said about Rs 1 crore). Chennai: GCC via DT Next, 2026. Ahmedabad: AMC via ETV Bharat, 2026. Mumbai's Rs 17 crore plan for three units with 5 years' upkeep is not shown. Bhubaneswar: BMC via OrissaPOST, September 2026 (outside our 12-city check).
Show the numbers
| Label | Rs lakh |
|---|---|
| Bengaluru, Sumanahalli (2014) | Rs 2.35 crore |
| Bhubaneswar, Palasuni (2026) | Rs 1.19 crore |
| Hyderabad, Fathullaguda (2022) | Rs 84.75 lakh |
| Chennai, Kannammapet (2025) | Rs 50 lakh |
| Ahmedabad, Behrampura (2026) | Rs 30 lakh |
Embed this chart
dogeats.in count of the seven civic facilities in this report, by opening or completion year. Excludes charity-run units such as Blue Cross Chennai.
Show the numbers
| Label | facilities |
|---|---|
| 2014 | 1 |
| 2018 | 2 |
| 2022 | 3 |
| 2023 | 5 |
| 2025 | 6 |
| 2026 | 7 |
Embed this chart
Ahmedabad's figures show demand from owners. Of 108 dogs cremated by late March 2026, 53 were pets and 55 strays, or 49.1% pets. Thirty-two owners had donated Rs 1,06,500 online, about Rs 3,328 each, though cremation of registered pets is free.
The city had 19,347 registered pet dogs and 17,017 owners at the time, its officials said. See our dog registration fees report for what registration costs.
Is there a pet crematorium in Gurugram, Noida, Chandigarh or Kolkata?
Not a civic one, as far as we could find on 11 October 2026. In Chandigarh, a public interest petition in the Punjab and Haryana High Court sought a facility for dead pets. The court issued notice on 29 July 2024, and we found no later report of a facility.
In Kolkata's New Town, the New Town Kolkata Development Authority runs a pet dog cemetery. It charges Rs 2,500 for a burial and asks for a death certificate from a recognised vet.
Gurugram has private cremation services, and neither it nor Noida has a municipal crematorium we could confirm. Before booking a private service, ask for the price by weight, whether ashes are returned, and transport charges.
| City | Municipal pet crematorium | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gurugram | None found | Private services only; no published prices on sites checked | dogeats.in search, October 2026 |
| Noida | None found | No civic facility reported | dogeats.in search, October 2026 |
| Chandigarh | None found | High Court notice on PIL seeking a facility, 29 July 2024 | LiveLaw, 29 July 2024 |
| Kolkata (New Town) | None found | NKDA pet dog cemetery: burial Rs 2,500 | NKDA website, checked October 2026 |
| Lucknow | Not confirmed | Plans reported; no running facility confirmed | dogeats.in search, October 2026 |
- Get a death certificate from a vet; Mumbai and New Town require one.
- Keep your municipal dog licence handy; Mumbai's civic unit asks for it, and Ahmedabad's free service is for registered dogs.
- Call before you go: Bengaluru's unit was shut for 273 days in 2025, and timings vary.
- Ask whether ashes are returned and when; Delhi's facility hands them over after a cremation of about 25 to 30 minutes, its staff said.
Burial on private land is a common fallback, so ask your local civic body about the rules where you live. Our pet-friendly cities report compares other civic services for dog owners.
Frequently asked questions
How much does pet cremation cost in Delhi?
At the MCD's Dwarka crematorium, it costs Rs 2,000 for a pet under 30 kg and Rs 3,000 above 30 kg. These rates were reported in January 2024 and again in August 2026. Strays sent through the civic body are cremated free.
Is there a pet crematorium in Gurugram?
We found no municipal pet crematorium in Gurugram as of October 2026. Private services operate there, but those we checked did not publish prices. Delhi's MCD facility in Dwarka is the nearest civic option we confirmed.
Is pet cremation free in Mumbai?
It was free at launch. The BMC's Malad West incinerator, opened on 15 September 2023, cremated pets free of cost from 10 am to 6 pm. Civic units at Mahalaxmi and Deonar began on 1 April 2026 with online booking, and we found no published 2026 fee.
How much does pet cremation cost in Bengaluru?
Reports differ. Deccan Herald reported Rs 300 for dogs in December 2024 and Rs 800 for dogs in June 2025 at the civic Sumanahalli crematorium. The corporation said it would reopen on 12 January 2026 after 273 days shut.
Does Ahmedabad have a pet crematorium?
Yes. The AMC's CNG crematorium at Behrampura has run since 3 January 2026 and cremates AMC-registered pet dogs free. Owners call 155303 for the hearse van. It cremated 108 dogs by late March 2026.
How much does it cost to cremate a large dog?
At Delhi's MCD facility, a dog over 30 kg costs Rs 3,000. Pune's civic incinerator charged Rs 3,000 for larger animals in 2023. Pune Pet Park, a charity, lists Rs 3,500 for dogs over 20 kg.
What documents are needed for pet cremation?
Mumbai's civic unit asks for a vet's death certificate, a BMC dog licence and an identity proof. New Town's pet cemetery in Kolkata asks for a vet's death certificate. Ahmedabad asks owners to report the death on 155303 with registration details.
Can I bury my dog instead of cremating it?
Many owners do, often on private land. New Town in Kolkata charges Rs 2,500 for a pet dog burial at its cemetery. In Bengaluru, reported burial costs ran from Rs 2,000 to Rs 10,000 while the civic crematorium was shut. Check local rules first.
Methodology and limitations
We looked for civic pet crematoriums in 12 cities: Delhi, Gurugram, Noida, Mumbai, Pune, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Kolkata, Chandigarh and Lucknow. We searched official sites, court reports and news coverage, and read each source we cite on 11 October 2026.
We counted a facility as municipal if a city corporation runs it or provides the land under an agreement. Charity-run facilities on private land, such as Blue Cross of India in Chennai, are listed separately.
Fees are as stated by the civic body or as reported by the named outlet on the date shown. Where two reports disagree, as in Bengaluru and Pune, we show both. Monthly figures for Pune are dogeats.in calculations from the seven-month total.
Private provider prices come from published price lists we could open. Most private services we checked in Delhi NCR did not publish prices, so we did not include them.
Sources
- ANI, Mayor inspects Delhi's first pet crematorium in Dwarka, 10 January 2024 (MCD release), Delhi fees, capacity, area, stray cremation charges
- Free Press Journal, BMC opens first pet incinerator, 15 September 2023, Mumbai opening, free service, hours, documents, Rs 17 crore plan
- Deccan Herald, Sumanahalli animal crematorium to reopen, 10 January 2026, Closure from 14 April 2025; reopening; hours
- Also consulted: Free Press Journal, BMC opens pet cremation facilities in Deonar and Mahalaxmi, 16 April 2026, OrissaPOST, BMC sets up LPG-based small animal crematorium in Palasuni, 2 September 2026, Punekar News, PMC plans to shift Rs 1.5 crore animal incinerator, 3 June 2026, NewsKarnataka, 20 June 2025, The Patriot, 12 August 2026, Free Press Journal, 23 July 2025, Deccan Herald, 18 December 2024, Deccan Herald, 20 June 2025, The News Minute, 22 October 2014, The South First, 7 December 2022, The News Minute, 5 December 2022, Punekar News, 22 November 2023, Pune Pulse, 17 March 2024, ETV Bharat, 25 March 2026, DeshGujarat, 9 February 2026, DT Next, 20 January 2026 (GCC release), New Town Kolkata Development Authority, pet dog cemetery, LiveLaw, 29 July 2024, Pune Pet Park, cremation guidelines and prices (checked 11 October 2026), DT Next, 22 December 2021, Sentinel and other reports on Lucknow plans (not confirmed), Private pet cremation websites for Delhi NCR and Gurugram (no published prices).
Cite, embed and download
This report, its data and its images are free to reuse under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 licence. Credit dogeats.in with a link to this page. Every chart has its own embed code, every table has a CSV and an image download, and the images below are ready for social posts, slides and articles.
Cite this report
Link to this report
Every chart and table as an image











