Data report · Updated October 2026
Army and police dogs in India: how many there are, which breeds serve, what they cost and how they retire
The Indian Army has not published a total count of its dogs; its Meerut training centre is mandated to hold over 500 at a time. The central armed police forces had about 4,000 dogs, officials said in October 2023, and the BSF has deployed 150 Indian-breed dogs. A fully trained police dog now costs up to Rs 8.55 lakh under Home Ministry rates set in February 2025.

Key findings
- The Ministry of Defence told the Rajya Sabha in August 2025 that the military holds about 12,600 animals, but gave no separate count of dogs.
- Each Army dog unit has 24 dogs and 35 handlers, according to the Army's training staff quoted by ThePrint in 2022.
- The central armed police forces had about 4,000 dogs and took in about 300 pups a year, officials told PTI in October 2023; the CRPF alone had about 1,500.
- The BSF had deployed 150 Indian-breed dogs, Rampur Hounds and Mudhol Hounds, on the borders and in anti-Naxal areas by October 2025.
- The Home Ministry raised the price of a fully trained police dog by 66.8% in February 2025, to Rs 8.55 lakh for a 9-month course with handler cost included.
- The Railway Protection Force has 416 dogs, and 262 of them (63%) detect explosives, according to the Home Ministry's National Police K9 Journal.
- Home Ministry rules set a dog's average working life at 8 years, half that of a horse, camel or mule (16 years).
- Retired CAPF dogs are given for adoption free of cost, and euthanasia of old dogs has stopped, under a Home Ministry SOP issued in January 2020.
- Mudhol Hounds and Rampur Hounds score 5 out of 5 for Indian heat in dogeats.in ratings. Labradors and German Shepherds, the main service breeds, score 2.
How many dogs are there in the Indian Army?
There is no published official total for dogs alone. In a written Rajya Sabha reply in August 2025, the Ministry of Defence said about 12,600 animals, including horses, mules, camels and dogs, are held with the military. It did not split that figure by species. Figures such as "1,200 dogs" that circulate online do not cite a source we could verify.
What the Army has said gives a partial picture. Training staff told ThePrint in 2022 that the Remount and Veterinary Corps (RVC) Centre and College in Meerut is mandated to hold over 500 dogs at any time.
Each Army dog unit has 24 dogs and 35 handlers, plus a unit commander and support staff, the same report said. Official gallantry lists name units as high as the 26 Army Dog Unit.
| Figure | Value | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| All animals held with the military (horses, mules, camels, dogs and others) | About 12,600 | August 2025 | Ministry of Defence written reply in the Rajya Sabha, reported by PTI |
| Dogs held at RVC Centre, Meerut (mandate) | Over 500 | August 2022 | Army training staff, quoted by ThePrint |
| Dogs per Army dog unit | 24 | August 2022 | Army training staff, quoted by ThePrint |
| Handlers per Army dog unit | 35 | August 2022 | Army training staff, quoted by ThePrint |
| Successful missions by Army dogs in one year | 53 | August 2020 | Military sources, quoted by The Tribune |
| Dogs in Republic Day 2026 contingent | 16 (10 Indian-breed, 6 conventional) | January 2026 | All India Radio News |
| Highest-numbered dog unit in an official list | 26 Army Dog Unit | August 2022 | PIB gallantry awards list |
The Army raises and trains its own dogs at Meerut, from birth to retirement. Pups are microchipped and tattooed with a unit number on the left ear, start basic obedience at six months, and then take an aptitude test.
How many dogs do the BSF, CRPF and other police forces have?
The central armed police forces (CAPFs) are the largest users of police dogs in India. Officials told PTI in October 2023 that the CAPFs had nearly 4,000 dogs and took in about 300 pups a year. The CRPF had about 1,500, the CISF about 700 and the NSG about 100. Home Ministry sources had given ETV Bharat the same 4,000 total in November 2022.
Newer figures exist for single forces. The BSF said in October 2025 that 150 Indian-breed dogs had been deployed. The Railway Protection Force reported 416 dogs in the Home Ministry's National Police K9 Journal (2024 issue).
Every central force now follows common rules on breeding, buying, training and retiring dogs. These come from the Police K9 Cell, set up in the Home Ministry's police modernisation division in 2019.
| Force | Dogs (about) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| CRPF | 1,500 | Officials quoted by PTI, October 2023 |
| CISF | 700 | Officials quoted by PTI, October 2023 |
| NSG | 100 | Official quoted by PTI, October 2023 |
| All CAPFs | 4,000 | Officials quoted by PTI, October 2023 |
| Pups taken in a year, all CAPFs | 300 | Officials quoted by PTI, October 2023 |
National Police K9 Journal, Vol V Issue II (Home Ministry Police K9 Cell, published February 2025). Total 416.
Show the numbers
| Label | dogs |
|---|---|
| Explosives detection | 262 |
| Tracking | 103 |
| Narcotics detection | 46 |
| Wildlife protection | 5 |
Embed this chart
| Function | Dogs | Breeds |
|---|---|---|
| Explosives detection | 262 | Labrador Retriever, Belgian Malinois |
| Tracking | 103 | German Shepherd, Dobermann |
| Narcotics detection | 46 | Labrador Retriever |
| Wildlife protection | 5 | Labrador Retriever |
| Total | 416 |
| Force | Main dog centre | Breeds named by official sources | Latest figure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indian Army | RVC Centre and College, Meerut | Labrador, German Shepherd, Belgian Malinois, Great Swiss Mountain Dog; Indian breeds since 2016 | Over 500 dogs at the centre (2022) | Army staff via ThePrint |
| BSF | National Training Centre for Dogs, Tekanpur (Gwalior) | Rampur Hound, Mudhol Hound, plus foreign breeds | 150 Indian-breed dogs deployed (2025) | BSF via All India Radio and Awaz The Voice |
| CRPF | Dog Breeding and Training School, Bengaluru | Mongrels (Indian dogs), Mudhol Hound, Kombai, Pandikona | About 1,500 dogs (2023) | Mann Ki Baat, 26 October 2025; officials via PTI, October 2023 |
| ITBP | National Training Centre for Dogs, Bhanu | Not listed in source | Not published | National Police K9 Journal |
| RPF | Zonal dog squads | Labrador, Belgian Malinois, German Shepherd, Dobermann | 416 dogs (2024) | National Police K9 Journal |
| All CAPFs | Police K9 Cell, Home Ministry | German Shepherd, Labrador, Belgian Malinois; Indian breeds under trial | About 4,000 dogs (2023) | Officials via PTI; Home Ministry sources via ETV Bharat (2022) |
State police dog squads are not counted in any national total we found. The Home Ministry's January 2022 SOP lets state police buy pups and trained dogs from central force centres once those forces meet their own needs. Any surplus beyond the security forces' demand can be sold to the public.
Which dog breeds are used by the Indian Army and police?
Foreign breeds still do most of the work. The Army mainly uses the Labrador Retriever, German Shepherd, Belgian Malinois and Great Swiss Mountain Dog. Labradors are chosen for explosive, mine and narcotics detection; Malinois for assault work.
Indian breeds are a growing share. The Army says the Mudhol Hound, Chippiparai, Kombai and Rajapalayam made the cut after 2016. The BSF uses the Mudhol Hound and the Rampur Hound on the Pakistan and Bangladesh borders.
In October 2025 the Prime Minister said the CRPF's Bengaluru school trains mongrels, Mudhol Hounds, Kombai and Pandikona. A BSF Mudhol Hound named Riya won Best Dog at the All India Police Duty Meet 2024 in Lucknow.

dogeats.in editorial ratings from our breed guides. Indian breeds in green. Score of 5 means the breed copes best with Indian summers.
Show the numbers
| Label | score |
|---|---|
| Chippiparai | 5 of 5 |
| Indian Pariah Dog | 5 of 5 |
| Kombai | 5 of 5 |
| Mudhol Hound | 5 of 5 |
| Rajapalayam | 5 of 5 |
| Rampur Greyhound | 5 of 5 |
| Belgian Malinois | 4 of 5 |
| Doberman | 4 of 5 |
| Cocker Spaniel | 3 of 5 |
| German Shepherd | 2 of 5 |
| Labrador Retriever | 2 of 5 |
Embed this chart
| Breed | Used by | Indian breed | Weight (kg) | Lifespan (years) | Heat score (1 to 5) | Pet-quality puppy price (Rs) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Labrador Retriever | Army, RPF, CAPFs | No | 25 to 36 | 11 to 13 | 2 | 8,000 to 30,000 |
| German Shepherd | Army, RPF, CAPFs | No | 23 to 41 | 12 to 14 | 2 | 20,000 to 35,000 |
| Belgian Malinois | Army, RPF, CAPFs | No | 18 to 36 | 14 to 16 | 4 | 30,000 to 50,000 |
| Doberman | RPF | No | 27 to 45 | 10 to 12 | 4 | 20,000 to 35,000 |
| Cocker Spaniel | Army (Covid-19 detection trial) | No | 12 to 15 | 12 to 14 | 3 | 15,000 to 25,000 |
| Mudhol Hound | Army, BSF, CRPF | Yes | 20 to 30 | 12 to 15 | 5 | 3,000 to 10,000 |
| Rampur Greyhound | BSF | Yes | 23 to 32 | 10 to 14 | 5 | 8,000 to 20,000 |
| Kombai | Army, CRPF | Yes | 23 to 35 | 12 to 15 | 5 | 5,000 to 15,000 |
| Chippiparai | Army | Yes | 15 to 22 | 12 to 15 | 5 | 5,000 to 12,000 |
| Rajapalayam | Army | Yes | 20 to 40 | 10 to 12 | 5 | 5,000 to 15,000 |
| Indian Pariah Dog | CRPF | Yes | 15 to 30 | 13 to 16 | 5 | 0 to 3,000 |
Indian breeds cost less as pets too. A pet-quality Mudhol Hound puppy sells for Rs 3,000 to Rs 10,000 in our listings, against Rs 30,000 to Rs 50,000 for a Belgian Malinois. Compare more breeds in our native vs foreign breeds report.
What does a trained police dog cost in India?
A fully trained police dog from a central force centre costs Rs 2.96 lakh to Rs 8.55 lakh. The Home Ministry set these rates on 10 February 2025 for sales to other forces and agencies.
The price depends on the course and on who supplies the handler. A 6-month course covers explosive or narcotics detection, patrol, guard and mine work. A 9-month course covers search and rescue, tracking and dual-purpose dogs.
Handler cost is a large share of the price. The gap between the two rates works out to Rs 50,000 a month of training for both courses, by our calculation.
MHA Police K9 Cell, revised rates letter dated 10 February 2025. Rates for sale to other forces and agencies.
Show the numbers
| Label | Rs |
|---|---|
| Pup, 3 months | Rs 0.50 lakh |
| Pup, 6 months | Rs 0.76 lakh |
| Pup, 9 months | Rs 1.12 lakh |
| 6-month course, with handler | Rs 5.96 lakh |
| 9-month course, with handler | Rs 8.55 lakh |
| 6-month course, own handler | Rs 2.96 lakh |
| 9-month course, own handler | Rs 4.05 lakh |
Embed this chart
Old rates: MHA letters of 4 June 2020 (pups) and 23 April 2021 (trained dogs), quoted in MHA SOP No. 6. New rates: MHA letter of 10 February 2025. dogeats.in calculation.
Show the numbers
| Label | % |
|---|---|
| Pup, 3 months | 42.9% |
| Pup, 6 months | 35.7% |
| Pup, 9 months | 57.7% |
| 6-month course, with handler | 65.4% |
| 9-month course, with handler | 66.8% |
| 6-month course, own handler | 42.3% |
| 9-month course, own handler | 42.6% |
Embed this chart
| Item | Earlier rate (Rs) | Rate from February 2025 (Rs) | Change (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pup, 3 months (exceptional cases only) | 35,000 | 50,000 | 42.9 |
| Pup, 6 months | 56,000 | 76,000 | 35.7 |
| Pup, 9 months, basic obedience trained | 71,000 | 1,12,000 | 57.7 |
| Trained dog, 6-month course, CAPF handler cost included | 3,60,330 | 5,96,000 | 65.4 |
| Trained dog, 9-month course, CAPF handler cost included | 5,12,500 | 8,55,000 | 66.8 |
| Trained dog, 6-month course, buyer provides handler | 2,08,000 | 2,96,000 | 42.3 |
| Trained dog, 9-month course, buyer provides handler | 2,84,000 | 4,05,000 | 42.6 |
| Feeding charge per month if buyer delays collecting a pup | 5,000 | 10,425 | 108.5 |
Pups are normally sold only at 9 months, after basic obedience training, so the forces can judge temperament first. Sale at 3 or 6 months needs Home Ministry approval. The ministry says it will revise the rates every three years.
What happens to army and police dogs when they retire?
Central police force dogs retire to old-age homes or go to adopters, free of cost. A Home Ministry SOP issued in January 2020 says euthanasia of old and worn-out force animals has stopped.
The SOP sets a dog's average working life at 8 years. A dog is retired only when it is unfit for one month of active duty, not on age alone. Retired dogs get 70% of the normal ration for life.
Euthanasia is now limited to animals with incurable, painful conditions, on a vet's advice. Retired dogs that are not adopted live at the dog breeding and training centres.

Average functional lifespan in the Home Ministry SOP for casting and disposal of old, worn-out and unfit animals of CAPFs, NSG and Assam Rifles.
Show the numbers
| Label | years |
|---|---|
| Horse | 16 years |
| Pony | 16 years |
| Mule | 16 years |
| Camel | 16 years |
| Yak | 12 years |
| Dog | 8 years |
Embed this chart
| Question | CAPFs, NSG and Assam Rifles (Home Ministry SOP) | Indian Army (as reported) |
|---|---|---|
| When does a dog retire? | When unfit for one month of active duty; average working life 8 years | Stays with its unit until about 9 years of age (ThePrint, 2022) |
| Is euthanasia used? | Stopped for old dogs; only for incurable, painful conditions on a vet's advice | Stopped after 2015, Army spokesperson said in 2018; only for terminal illness |
| Where do retired dogs live? | Dog breeding and training centres, on 70% rations | Retirement home at RVC Centre, Meerut |
| Can the public adopt? | Yes, free of cost; priority to government institutions, then officers, force personnel, NGOs and civilians | Yes, through the RVC Centre; 12 dogs given to Asha Schools and adopters in December 2024 |
| Conditions on adopters | Sign a bond; no breeding or trade work; vet check before adoption | Not published |
Sources differ on when the Army stopped putting down retired dogs. The Army said in 2018 that it stopped after government sanction in 2015. A ThePrint report in 2024 said the practice continued until 2017. In July 2015 the government told the Delhi High Court a policy to end it was coming.
A July 2020 Home Ministry advisory also encourages forces to use retired dogs as therapy dogs for children with special needs. If you are thinking of a working breed as a pet, read our adoption statistics and the Indian Pariah Dog guide first.
Which Indian Army dogs have won gallantry awards?
Army dogs can be named in the Mention-in-Despatches list and receive commendation cards. Dogs named in recent lists include Axel (2022), Kent (2024) and Tyson (2026).
Axel, a Belgian Malinois of the 26 Army Dog Unit, was named posthumously in August 2022 after he was shot while clearing a building in Baramulla. Kent, a Labrador tracker, was named in August 2024 among 39 Mentions-in-Despatches.
In August 2026, Tyson, a German Shepherd assault dog of 2 Para (Special Forces), was named among 75 Mentions-in-Despatches. He had been shot in a February 2026 operation in Kishtwar and was reported stable.
| Dog | Breed | Unit | Honour | Announced | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sophie | Not stated | Special Frontier Force | Chief of Army Staff Commendation Card | 15 August 2020 | The Tribune |
| Vida | Not stated | Army dog unit, Northern Command | Chief of Army Staff Commendation Card | 15 August 2020 | The Tribune |
| Axel (74B7) | Belgian Malinois | 26 Army Dog Unit | Mention-in-Despatches (posthumous) | August 2022 | PIB gallantry list |
| Kent (08B2) | Labrador | 21 Army Dog Unit | Mention-in-Despatches (posthumous) | August 2024 | ThePrint |
| Tyson | German Shepherd | 2 Para (Special Forces) | Mention-in-Despatches | August 2026 | Deccan Chronicle |
Why are Indian breeds joining the Army and BSF?
The push began at the top. The BSF says the Prime Minister suggested using Indian breeds when he visited its dog training centre at Tekanpur in January 2018. He repeated the call on Mann Ki Baat in August 2020 and praised the BSF and CRPF in October 2025.
Heat is a practical reason. In dogeats.in ratings, every Indian breed used by the forces scores 5 out of 5 for Indian heat. The Labrador and German Shepherd score 2, and the Belgian Malinois 4.
The BSF has asked state police forces, through the Bureau of Police Research and Development, to list local breeds it could train. It also gives its dogs Indian names now, the Prime Minister said in October 2025.
- After 2016: Indian breeds including the Mudhol Hound make the cut for Army training at Meerut, ThePrint reported.
- January 2018: Prime Minister visits BSF's dog training centre at Tekanpur.
- 2019: Home Ministry sets up the Police K9 Cell.
- November 2022: SSB and ITBP complete Mudhol Hound trials, Home Ministry sources say.
- 2024: BSF Mudhol Hound Riya wins Best Dog at the All India Police Duty Meet in Lucknow.
- October 2025: BSF reports 150 Indian-breed dogs deployed and fields an Indian-breed dog contingent for the 31 October Ekta Diwas parade.
- January 2026: 10 Indian-breed Army dogs join the Army animal contingent marching on Kartavya Path for the first time, for Republic Day.
See the heat ratings for all 58 breeds we cover in our heat risk ranking.
Frequently asked questions
How many dogs are there in the Indian Army?
No dog-only total has been published. The Ministry of Defence told the Rajya Sabha in August 2025 that the military holds about 12,600 animals of all kinds. The Meerut training centre is mandated to hold over 500 dogs, and each Army dog unit has 24, Army staff told ThePrint in 2022.
How many dogs do the central armed police forces have?
About 4,000, officials told PTI in October 2023, including about 1,500 in the CRPF, 700 in the CISF and 100 in the NSG. The forces take in about 300 pups a year. No official total has been published since.
Which dog breeds are used by the Indian Army?
Mainly the Labrador Retriever, German Shepherd, Belgian Malinois and Great Swiss Mountain Dog. Indian breeds such as the Mudhol Hound, Chippiparai, Kombai and Rajapalayam entered Army training after 2016.
Which Indian breeds does the BSF use?
The BSF uses the Rampur Hound and the Mudhol Hound. By October 2025 it had deployed 150 Indian-breed dogs on the western and eastern borders and in anti-Naxal operations.
How much does a police dog cost in India?
Under Home Ministry rates from 10 February 2025, a 9-month-old trained pup costs Rs 1.12 lakh. A fully trained dog costs Rs 2.96 lakh to Rs 8.55 lakh, depending on the course and whether the buyer supplies the handler.
Can I adopt a retired army dog in India?
Yes. The Army gives some retired dogs to schools and individuals, including 12 in December 2024. Central police force dogs are given for adoption free of cost under a Home Ministry SOP, with priority to government bodies, force members and NGOs before civilians.
At what age do army and police dogs retire?
Home Ministry rules give a working life of about 8 years, but a dog retires only when unfit for a month of active duty. Army dogs stay with their unit until about 9 years of age, according to Army staff.
Do army dogs get gallantry awards in India?
Yes. Army dogs Axel (2022), Kent (2024) and Tyson (2026) were named in Mention-in-Despatches lists. Sophie and Vida received Chief of Army Staff Commendation Cards in 2020.
Methodology and limitations
We searched Ministry of Defence and Home Ministry releases, parliamentary records, PIB, All India Radio and established news outlets for figures published up to October 2026. We used Home Ministry Police K9 Cell documents directly for prices, retirement rules and the RPF dog count.
Price changes compare the rates quoted in Home Ministry SOP No. 6 (pup rates of 4 June 2020, trained-dog rates of 23 April 2021) with the revised rates of 10 February 2025. Percentages and the monthly handler cost are dogeats.in calculations.
Breed weights, lifespans, heat scores and pet puppy prices come from dogeats.in breed guides. Price ranges were compiled by dogeats.in from breeder and marketplace listings for our breed guides, October 2026. Heat scores are dogeats.in editorial ratings (1 to 5).
Sources
- Ministry of Home Affairs, Police K9 Cell: revised rates on sale of pups and trained dogs (10 February 2025), 2025 prices of CAPF pups and trained dogs
- Ministry of Home Affairs: SOP for casting and disposal of old, worn-out and unfit animals of CAPFs, NSG and Assam Rifles, Working life, end of euthanasia, adoption rules, 70% rations
- All India Radio News (28 October 2025), 150 Indian-breed dogs deployed by BSF; Riya
- Also consulted: PTI via The Week (18 August 2025): Ministry of Defence written reply in the Rajya Sabha, The Tribune, PTI (24 October 2023), Ministry of Home Affairs: SOP No. 6 on sale of pups and trained dogs from CAPF dog training centres, Ministry of Home Affairs: National Police K9 Journal, Vol V Issue II, Ministry of Home Affairs: addendum to SOPs on casting and disposal (13 January 2020), Ministry of Home Affairs: Police K9 Cell documents page, Mann Ki Baat, 127th episode, English text (26 October 2025), PIB: gallantry awards list, Independence Day 2022, ThePrint (23 August 2022), ThePrint (5 September 2022), ETV Bharat (10 November 2022), Awaz The Voice (25 October 2025), ETV Bharat (24 October 2025), All India Radio News (2 January 2026), The Tribune (23 December 2024), The Tribune (31 August 2020), ThePrint (15 August 2024), Deccan Chronicle (16 August 2026), ThePrint (25 October 2018), Business Standard, PTI (8 July 2015), Open Magazine (28 February 2026), Tribune (30 July 2024) on Army dogs sent to Wayanad, MHA addendum to casting SOP (17 December 2024), MHA Trial of Indigenous Breeds of Dogs for Police Duties advisory.
Cite, embed and download
This report, its data and its images are free to reuse under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 licence. Credit dogeats.in with a link to this page. Every chart has its own embed code, every table has a CSV and an image download, and the images below are ready for social posts, slides and articles.
Cite this report
Link to this report
Every chart and table as an image















